6 Organizations That Changed My Life, Vol. 1: INVST

I went to college in my hometown and lived with my mom freshman year, so I never had the dorm experience. Once I got over the shock at how scary it was to be on a big campus, college just felt like an extension of high school.

Toward the end of my sophomore year, I saw a chalk message on the sidewalk by the library, announcing an info session about a leadership and social justice program on campus called “INVST.” I thought to myself: Leadership? That’s me. Social justice? I’m all about it. So I went to the meeting.

It was a two-year program that combined the study of social justice theory, which we learned in a 3-credit class during the school year; with practical skills, such as meeting facilitation, conflict mediation, and grassroots organizing, which we learned in a 1-credit practicum; and real-world experiences, including an internship during our first year and two summer community service trips.

A big part of what INVST teaches has to do with living and working in community—derived from the novel concept that, if we want to train young people to be good citizens, we should equip them with tools to help them cooperate, resolve conflicts, and participate in true consensus decision making. So, the idea was that you would go through the entire two-year program with the same small group of people.

I started INVST in the summer of 1996. That year, the program accepted eight chicks and two dudes. Not everyone who applied got in. The curriculum was academically rigorous and included serious courses in sociology, political science, and global economics.

The reading list included everyone from Gandhi and Martin Luther King to Paolo Freire and Ram Dass. We studied real case studies of political movements, nonviolent protest, liberation theology, and civil disobedience, as well as intense histories of oppression and injustice throughout the world—from the unbelievable atrocities of the “disappeared” in Latin America in the 80s; to the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia; to Aung San Suu Kyi’s fight in Burma, and on and on.

We read about environmental destruction, poverty, racism, and white privilege. And we disagreed. We argued. We were encouraged to explore all angles of an issue, so we often played devil’s advocate to each other.

On top of all that, we had our personal relationships with each other, which brought up all other kinds of issues. We got comfortable enough to get on each other’s nerves and the INVST program encouraged us to approach these conflicts using tools we learned in our practica—such as active listening, and objective reasoning that helped us separate our emotions from the facts at hand.

We learned how to set ground rules and structure our meetings to ensure that no one person could dominate. We all participated equally. No one was above anyone else. And if someone was bringing something toxic to the group, we were encouraged to address it openly and honestly.

I could not have had better training for the real world than that. We were being prepared for a different kind of leadership. Not a “power over” kind of leadership, but a model of shared power, equal opportunity, and encouragement of divergent perspectives (so long as they were presented respectfully). I use something I learned in INVST every single day. It was like an intensive on how to live in a democracy. Or at least how it is supposed to be.

Unfortunately, you realize once you graduate from INVST that all of your great practical skills are a lot harder to use in the real world, where most other people have not had similar training.

It is especially hard to enter the workforce and find so many people who feel powerless, and who seem to have no outlet for their frustration. INVST helped me to understand that the hierarchical system of leadership just doesn’t work as well as a community-based model—it doesn’t work in classrooms (as Freire taught us), nor does it work in economics, or in social welfare.

When small groups of privileged people are given the authority to make the rules that everyone has to follow, the wealth does not “trickle down.” The privilege is rarely acknowledged, and, typically, the least powerful are made to feel that their poor situation is their own fault—a result of their laziness, bad upbringing, or wrong decisions.

INVST helped me to understand that there is another way. Real community is absolutely possible, but we have to have integrity in our actions and respect for divergent opinions.

Most importantly, we have to really listen to each other and make persistent effort to better understand the other’s point of view. That is the only way to generate enough compassion for one another that we can start to tackle the real problems facing all of us. Like, for instance, the environmental degradation of the planet and the fact that by 2020 (in SIX years) the United Nations estimates that there will be 1 BILLION people worldwide who are living in extreme poverty in urban slums. These are the kinds of problems we need to put our minds together to try to solve.

And I haven’t even mentioned the summer service experiences yet, which were in many ways the most impactful part of the INVST program. So, here goes:

The Domestic Summer Service Experience
My cohort met only a few times before departing for our first trip together in the summer of 1996. We came together to do a little bit of fundraising and we had a few days of orientation, then we hopped in a van and headed to New Mexico for a “wilderness experience” in the mountains outside Taos.

My cohort at the very beginning. We called ourselves "CEADS." I honestly don't remember what it stands for now. One of my fellow INVSTers will have to remind me.

My cohort at the very beginning. We called ourselves “CEADS.” I honestly don’t remember what it stands for now. One of my fellow INVSTers will have to remind me.

It was kind of like an Outward Bound experience: We did group-bonding exercises and played games. Our facilitators (who were former INVST students themselves) gave us self-reflective journal assignments. At night, the facilitators led discussions and guided us through exercises to help us make deeper meaning of the experiences we were having. On this portion of the trip, we talked a lot about human impact on the environment, and what can be done to preserve the wilderness.

Picture 24

Here we are a few days later, all crusty and bonded.

Picture 28

The second part of the trip was to Denver, where we spent a week in the Samaritan House Homeless Shelter. I wrote about this in my last post, so I’m not going to do it again here.

The final two weeks of the first summer were spent in the four corners area, on the Navajo (Dine) and Hopi reservations, where we volunteered with the Black Mesa Permaculture Project. Basically, we dug ditches for two weeks in the summer in Arizona.

Permaculture is a system for shaping the desert land—by digging irrigation ditches, and building burms—so that when it actually does rain (which is obviously rare) the water has places to collect and enrich the soil, making it possible to grow vegetation.

This is Justin from the Black Mesa Permaculture Project. He was a serious, but very cool dude.

This is Justin from the Black Mesa Permaculture Project. He was a serious, but very cool dude.

Gaffney, Summer, and Carol

Gaffney, Summer, and Carol

We studied the effect of the coal industry on the four corners area, where the Peabody Coal Company (the largest private coal company in the world) has forced or coerced the Navajo and Hopi people to relocate repeatedly in the ongoing quest to satisfy Americans’ insatiable consumption of fossil fuels. We talked with the local people, visited a school where we ate our weight in fry bread, and even participated in a sweat lodge.

And we had a lot of fun too.

Picture 18

Jen and Gig

Seana-Baxter

This is Seana Lowe, who ran INVST when I was in the program. More than anyone else in my college career, she was my mentor and inspiration to do the best work I possibly could. I will always be grateful to her for that. And Baxter was the sweetest pup ever. Although, if you played Frisbee with him, look out. He came at you like a linebacker.

Picture 36

I love how everyone looks like they’re having fun except Steph, who looks like she’s about to puke.

scan0012

Yes, I am wearing a do-rag and walking like an Egyptian. So sue me.

After the first summer, we were a pretty solid group. Then we had a whole school year of classes and practica together, where we reflected on our experiences, read, theorized, argued, and discussed. And we each did an internship at a local organization.

I was a legislative intern for the National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League (NARAL) in Denver. I helped organize phone banks and lobby politicians. I worked closely with the volunteer coordinator, Molly Harlow, who was also an INVST alum. It was an incredibly educational experience. I realized that political organizing is really, really, REALLY hard.

The International Summer Service Experience

The second summer, we went to Mexico. Before we left, we were required to read all about Mexican politics and history (which, if you think the U.S. has issues…) This was right around the time that President Clinton enacted the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), so we read a ton about how U.S. consumerism fuels shady manufacturing practices just over the border.

We learned about “maquiladoras,” the U.S.-owned factories on the Mexican side, which employ mostly young women who work for measly wages and suffer humiliating treatment as they assemble the clothing, medical supplies, and other products that we use every day. Thanks to NAFTA, U.S. corporations were now free to exploit Mexico’s cheap labor with little to no restriction or oversight.

Picture 32

This is Anapra, Mexico, where many maquiladora workers live. It’s just outside Ciudad Juarez (across the border from El Paso, TX). This is also the location of the notorious Maquiladora Murders–hundreds, if not thousands, of young women who work in these U.S.-owned factories have been sexually assaulted, kidnapped, and murdered here with practically no intervention by the police or the companies who operate here (many of which are household names that you likely use every day).

Picture 29

Dave is not really using the toilet here. It’s not connected to anything. But it sure looks convincing.

Steph

Steph was my roommate for a while. She and her (now) husband are some of the coolest people you will ever meet.

Picture 15

One of the most amazing parts for me was staying at Annunciation House in El Paso, which is a safehouse for refugees from all over the world who come to the U.S. seeking asylum. It’s kind of like a halfway house or a shelter–group meals, community rules–and it’s a place for people who are fleeing persecution in their home countries to settle while they go through the legal process of getting permission to stay in the States. Some of the refugees are from Central and South America, and some are from as far away as Iraq.

After our border experience, we headed to the small fishing community of Bahia Kino on the West coast of Mexico, on the Sea of Cortez. There, we volunteered teaching English and doing other odd jobs like painting the school.

Picture 20

Dave and I are painting “Def Leppard Forever” on the wall. Don’t worry, we painted over it. But I will say that the people of Bahia Kino might have appreciated it. They had some interesting hits in the juke box in town square. All I really remember is a whole lot of Air Supply.

Picture 33

I don’t know why my pants are so huge and high waisted. It was the 90s.

Picture 23

I look totally shell-shocked. Like, what am I supposed to teach these children again? On the back of this photo, I had written out some of their names: Claudia y Alonso, Daniel, Victor, David, Miguel, Julian, Ansel, Gabriel, Lucas, (Jen), y
Hector

Abigail

Our host mom, Abigail (ah-bi-gy-eel) and mi hermana, Sara! They were so sweet to us and let us sleep in their air conditioned room with the whole family after our guest room was infested with flying red ants.

Picture 17

All the kids loved Dave. I will always remember one morning he told us that he’d had a wonderful dream the night before that he knew all the lyrics to Chicago’s “You’re the Inspiration.” He said he was so disappointed when he woke up and it wasn’t true.

Picture 19 Picture 22 Picture 16

There is a lot more I could write about Mexico and about my wonderful friends from my INVST class, but those are stories for another time.

After completing the program, any INVST alum can apply to be a summer experience facilitator, and lead a whole new group of INVSTers on their trips. I was a facilitator twice: Once for the domestic experience and once for the international experience. I can’t find any pictures from the international trip that I co-led with the amazing and fantastic Carol Lynn, but I do have pictures from the domestic trip that I co-facilitated with Gig.

Picture 30

This is permaculture, folks. And it’s a LOT more work than it looks like.

Picture 10

Adam, Beth, and Christine. Doesn’t this look like an Abercrombie & Fitch ad?

Picture 5

Christine

Picture 1

I mean, did Gig EVER work? Way to set a good example!

Picture 4

Phil LOVED this kid.

Picture 7

Christy

Picture 6

Sara Nix, aka, “Hottie”

Picture 9

Sabrina and Christy. Sabrina actually runs INVST now. Aw.

Picture 8

Adam is such a ham. On the wilderness trip, I vaguely remember something about a squirrel that stole his hat while we were camping. We named it Funky the Squirrel and made up a whole song to the tune of “B-I-N-G-O.”

Picture 3

Me and Hottie Nix

Picture 12

I am OBVIOUSLY the better facilitator here. Way to slack off, Gig.

Picture 2

Just another part of my daring leadership style.

Picture 34 Picture 11

Gig

Seriously, though, Gig (pronounced “Jeej” or Francois Guillaume, if you want to get technical about his name) was the best co-facilitator I could have asked for and a great friend. I will never forget how he and I each had to drive Suburban trucks full of our INVST students all the way to Arizona to do the permaculture work, and we made up a song to the tune of the Rolling Stones’ “Beast of Burden” that went, “I’ll never be you’re big Suburban…”

INVST is still around and still making a huge difference in the lives of its participants, the local community, the nation, and (yes!) the world. You can find out more about this amazing program on their website.

[Just to be clear, I did not take all (or possibly any) of the pictures in this post. After each trip, we would all get together and share our photos, so unfortunately, I don’t know who to credit.]

Finally, although I am not going to write a post about it, another very important part of my college experience was singing with All Rights Reserved, a women’s a capella group at CU-Boulder. It was just another mind-blowing, enlightening exercise in group creativity that I treasure to this day. I also don’t have many pictures of All Rights Reserved. But here is one:

all-rights-reserved

I don’t remember what we are singing, but DeAnna was one of my favorite people to sing with because she had a beautiful alto voice. She did a kickass solo on “Go Your Own Way” by Fleetwood Mac.

Tune in next time for 6 Organizations That Changed My Life, Vol. 2: The Wiseman Group Interior Design, aka, How I Moved To San Francisco and Immediately Got a Job that I Was Not at All Qualified For.

Leave a Reply

