Making pickles with Mom

pickles11

So, I am still unemployed, which isn’t so bad, really. Except that looking for jobs on Craigslist feels like buying something off an infomercial. Too bad I’m too old to sell my eggs. Just kidding. Sort of.

Anyway, my mom has a huge garden that is overflowing with food, so she asked if I would help her do some canning. At first, I was like, do I have to? Star Trek: The Next Generation is on BBC America. But then I gave in.

Her garden really is beautiful:

I also love all the little trinkets and tableaus around her house:

She has a lot of portraits:

I'm the one on the right who looks like Alfalfa from the Little Rascals.

I’m the one on the right who looks like Alfalfa from the Little Rascals.

Grandma and Grandpa Maxwell

Grandma and Grandpa Maxwell

Norman, our dog when we were in high school

Norman, our dog when we were in high school

Zachary, from our closest family friends

Zachary, from our closest family friends

My baby picture and high school graduation pic, with Mom and the girls in the background

My baby picture and high school graduation pic, with Mom and the girls in the background

My sister was always a clown and I was always a princess

My sister was always a clown and I was always a princess

And yes, we DID actually make pickles:

Next week we are going to do something with the basil. Unless I get a job by then. Too bad I’m too old to rent out my uterus. Just kidding. Sort of.

3 thoughts on “Making pickles with Mom

  1. Hello~*Can I Have One?…Lolololol They Look So Scrumptious;.. I Love dill Pickles!! Are Some Sweet, Too? A Really,really Great Job You Two!! Wow! I’m Proud Of You That You Honored Your Mom & Helped Her Can The Pickles…”Awesome Looking Pickles! & I Love All The Sweet Family Pictures That You Took~*Too! I Love You Both~*Abundant Blessings For A Job Too! In His Sweet
    Shalom Peace~*

Leave a Reply

