Erie, CO, USA

IMG_0084Since arriving in Colorado a couple days ago, I have been staying with my mom in Erie. She left first thing this morning for work, leaving me without transportation. I had planned to go into Boulder, but it turns out that the bus doesn’t run between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. (how convenient!)  I contemplated walking the several miles to the next bus stop, but an hour-and-a-half trek through dried up prairie lands along the side of a bustling parkway did not appeal to me. So, allow me to introduce you to Erie, CO (est. 1874). At first glance, I thought it said “1974,” which would have seemed more plausible based on the strip malls and identical khaki houses on all sides.

IMG_0088

Wrong side of the tracks

IMG_0085

The tumbling tumbleweeds…

IMG_0072 IMG_0074 IMG_0078

IMG_0083

The closest thing to a grocery store in all of Erie

Well, that’s it for the suburbs.

I headed into the historical town center, anxious to take in the sights of this bustling metropolis.

IMG_0131The Erie Episcopal Methodist Church was built in 1888 by the Rev. J. Van Valkenburg who is one of the town’s primary founders. He was from Erie, Pennsylvania. When it came time to name this new settlement in the wilds of the West, The Rev must have said, “How about Erie?” Real original,  Van Valkenburg. In addition to being a reverend, he went on to be president of the Boulder Valley Coal Co., a founder of the local Masons chapter, a hotelier, the editor of the newspaper, a state representative, the mayor, and the town’s first undertaker.

 

There had been a spattering of European settlers throughout the 1850s and 60s, but Erie really boomed in the 1870s, when it became a mining town.

IMG_0132

I wanted to go to the Briggs St. Cafe for lunch. It is run by an Iranian family, and my mom says the food is quite good. I will have to take her word for it. It is closed on Tuesdays. (What the…?)

IMG_0119So I went to Azteca Family Mexican Restaurant instead. I liked their wall prints. When I started taking pictures of them, my server made sure to point out the one of Pancho Villa.

I’m pretty sure everyone in Erie thinks I am a complete nutbag. But that’s okay, because I don’t get them either. What are they thinking about? What are their interior lives like? Then I saw this…

IMG_0090 IMG_0091 IMG_0093

That about sums it up for Erie. I WILL MAKE IT TO BOULDER TOMORROW.

Leave a Reply

