I love you, you stupid assholes who post comments on the internet

I was raised in one of those “spiritual but not religious” households. Even though we didn’t follow a specific religion, my parents were former hippies, who instilled in us the importance of tolerance and acceptance.

I grew up in a New Age-y college town, where we regularly reflected on Buddhist principles of non-judgement and non-attachment. We meditated to release our suffering and recognized that we are all spiritual beings going through a human experience. Though we feel like separate individuals, we are really one — the same energy, from the same origins, born of the same stardust and magical spark of life.

I have also studied the nonviolent principles of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Gandhi — seeing that the only way to truly combat hatred, injustice, and prejudice is to disarm it. Anger only breeds anger. Bitterness doesn’t hurt your enemy, but really only hurts you. It hardens and calcifies into a toxic pit in your heart, which can manifest physically as depression, substance abuse, and even disease.

Therefore, when I happen to scroll through the comments section of an article or video on the internet, and find people with differing views from my own, I might get “triggered” at first. But then I ask myself, am I really “being the change I want to see in the world” as Gandhi suggested? Rather than seeing the “other” as my enemy, what if I were to bless them? To practice radical compassion and acceptance?

So, hey, I just wanted to tell you that I love you, you ignorant, ignorant fucks.

I’m sure you don’t mean to sound like callous, resentful, utterly unreasonable assholes with no comprehension of history, the laws of physics, or basic human decency.

And just because you are racist, misogynistic homophobes who seem to practice no self-exploration or critical examination of your worldview doesn’t mean that you are inherently bad people. You probably learned it from your completely irrational and backwards parents. Heck, we are a young society with a looooooooong history of racism, sexism, and violence. I recognize that your actions are not you.

So, yes. I love you, you hateful shitheads. I really, really love you.

RELATED POST: My spirit guides keep tricking me into working out

Leave a Reply

